Club Championships 2018

  • 2 January 2019
  • cetc_secretary

CETC Club Championships took place on 16th December 2018 at Lasswade.
There were 251 entries competing across 4 disciplines (TRA, SYNCHRO, DMT  - and newly introduced for fun this year DMT SYNCHRO!). The event was a HUGE success despite the Clubs computer recording system completely failing us on the day – which caused a bit of a panic at the start of the day, especially with a planned 5 panels running - but was handled by the ‘old school’ manual recording back up way, by our trusty volunteers!!! PHEW!
There was a Tuck shop, Kit sale stall and our Famous Annual Christmas Raffle tickets were available on the day also.
We would like to thank this year’s Sponsors; Registers of Scotland and DowMcCartney Construction for their donation of £500 each towards this year’s Annual Champs event T-shirts, and to Edinburgh Car Sales who sponsored Coaches Kit (with a £500 donation) which was issued to all of our current Coaching team.
The youngsters did themselves proud, giving many fabulous performances, showcasing their hard work from the year, and cheering very loud and proud for their Club mates! Certificates were issued to all participants for TRA and DMT and the top 10 pairs in SYNCHRO. Top 3 placings were issued with medals. Overall level prizes were awarded to the following individuals who scored highest in their level across all age categories:

Heidi Cooper
Maia Virgo
Zoe Taylor
Cailah Kerr
Isla Stokes
Alex Grieve
Emma Hamilton
Ellie McDonaugh
Taylor Robertson
Elite 9-14
Kelly Wynne
Elite 15+
Rebecca Houston

DMT - Club 1
Louise Frame
Club 2
Kayla Morrison
Club 3
Holly Allfrey
Club 4
Leah Borthwick
NDP 1-3
Amelia Lawson
NDP 4-6
Emma Forrest
FIG Development
Aaron Loftus
FIG Performance
Kelly Wynne

Annual Award trophies were awarded to the following Individuals: 

CETC TRA Form Champion – Emma Hamilton 
CETC TRA Tariff Champion – Lauren Millar
Beaton Cup – Katie Brown
CETC Best Newcomer TRA- Archie Lawson

CETC Allan Breck DMT Form Champion – Ellie McDonaugh
CETC Kitchens International Tariff Champion – Caitlin O’Brien 
CETC O’Brien/Donlevy Cup – Kelly Wynne
CETC Best Newcomer DMT- Gail MacDonald

CETC Synchro Champions – Leah Borthwick & Bruce McDougall

Tracey Yule Memorial Cup – Crawford Greig
CETC Volunteer of The Year – Lesley Borthwick (CETC Fundraising Coordinator)
CETC 'Brian Jeffrey Car Sales' Official of The Year – Janis Harvey (CETC Safeguarding Officer 1)
CETC Junior Coach of The Year – Orla Donlevy (voted by Club members)
CETC Coach of The Year – Lauren Millar (voted by Club members)
Achievement Awards:
Honorary Life Member Award- Moira Jeffrey (CETC Secretary)
World Age Champion 2017 Recognition – Caitlin O’Brien
Scottish Gymnastics Special Recognition Award – Caitlin O’Brien
Midlothian Council Coach of The Year- Kayleigh Kerr
Midlothian Council Sports Awards 'Junior Sports Personality Rising Stars'- Kelly Wynne, Crawford Greig, Leah Borthwick
Scottish Gymnastics Coach of The Year – Lauren Jeffrey
British Championships 2018 Qualifiers (FIG DMT)  – Ava Harvey 13th , Madeline Smith 16th (13-14 girls), Ciara Donlevy 7th, Caitlin O’Brien 3rd (Senior Women)
A great time was had by all!  This event as with all Club events, would not be possible without the commitment and input of the volunteers at the Club, and we thank everyone involved with Club Champs and all other CETC events this year for their ongoing support.
'Team work makes the dream work'! And here's to a fantastic 2019 season!